(Almost) Weekend Bookshelf: World Book Day

Other than those by Günter Grass (Even bad books are books and therefore sacred) and Groucho Marx (Outside of a dog, a book is man’s best friend. Inside of a dog it’s too dark to read), I’m useless at remembering quotes.  So I can’t tell you who once remarked that having more books on a shelf than you could possibly read was a good thing. However, I agree. Or at least it justifies my collecting.

I had privately promised that after buying 36 Hours and Kitchenella for myself during my Christmas shopping, and receiving copies of all six books shortlisted for the 2013 Man Booker Prize from my sister (Santa), I wouldn’t buy anything else.  That undertaking lasted until early February when I walked into Waterstone’s near the City Thameslink station while waiting for a train.  The Examined Life and Solomon Northup’s 12 Years a Slave were my reward for a meeting that had gone extremely well.

Last week was a collection of hideous days strung together so loosing myself in Waterstone’s at Piccadilly on Thursday was the restorative action taken.  And it worked.  Friday was much better. So my current stack to read looks like this…

World Book Day

 

1. Zena Alkayat – London Villages

2. Stephen Grosz – The Examined Life. How We Lose and Find Ourselves

3. Chris Yates – Nightwalk

4. Ruby Wax – Sane New World

5. Markus Zusak – The Book Thief

6. Ada Louise Huxtable – On Architecture – Collected Reflections on a Century of Change

7. Rose Prince – Kitchenella

8. Jhumpa Lahiri – The Lowland

9. Alexandra Lange – Writing About Architecture

10. The New York Times – 36 Hours. 125 Weekends in Europe

 

Ten. It’s a nice number but today is World Book Day and The Book People have a free delivery offer.  Well it would be rude not to!

 

Happy World Book Day!

One comment

  1. […] Lahiri’s The Lowland, travelled to France and back over New Year and made it onto my World Book Day Weekend Bookshelf, although I have yet to finish […]

Leave a Reply

